Source: BuzzQuotes.com

A year ago, yesterday, the brilliant actor Robin Williams took his own life. It was a sad day.

I grew up with Robin Williams on my screen. I was distraught on 11 August 2014. I felt like my youth was over. On this anniversary, the quote that sticks out in my mind (more than “O captain, my captain” in the finale scene of this movie) is “carpe diem”.

Dead Poets Society was a drama film set at the conservative Welton Academy in the north eastern part of the USA. This was one of Williams iconic roles: he played a forward-thinking teacher named John Keating. He inspired his students through poetry, and he taught them to think for themselves.

The character he played in Dead Poets Society may not be a person in real life (apparently based on the screenwriter’s two teachers), but in this movie, he was a writer. Since this film came out in 1989, and was set in 1959, I believe it is ‘historical’ in way.

Bearing the passing in mind, and reading this quote, I believe we should seize the day too – every day – and make our lives extraordinary. All because we don’t know how long we have on this earth, and how it’s going to turn out is largely in the unknown. It’s up to us to make it brilliant.

Let’s seize the day and make the most of it.

Posted in memory of Robin Williams, and in part of Writer's Quote Wednesday.
3 thoughts on “”

  1. It’s hard to believe it’s been a year since I first heard the sad news of Robin Williams’ death. He was for me one of the best tragi-comedy actors, I always felt he was at his best in films with a relationship element and I believe he would have excelled in those “European” thought provoking type of films more so than in Hollywood. However, that said, his roles in both ‘Dead Poets Society’ and ‘Good Will Hunting’ could hardly have been bettered, I also loved him in ‘One Hour Photo’ where he showed his prowess in playing a psychologically disturbed character. He seemed totally at home in the whacky film ‘Toys’ which drew in part on his earlier television work ‘Mork and Mindy’. It’s sad to realise that many comic actors have a tragic side to their lives, perhaps that’s the price they pay for their talent, who knows? But what was particularly upsetting about Williams’ death was its manner – he will be sorely missed.

    Like

Penny for your thoughts...?

