Letter to a Dream Reader

Dear Ms Jane Austen,

Oh, Jane Austen!¹ How I, and zillion other people, admire you and your works! Your great novels, such as Pride and Prejudice, provide enjoyment to many people every day. Your quotes are written on everything, girls pine for a Mr Darcy, and people like me wonder what it was like to live in the 18th and 19th centuries (after the medieval era, the Georgian/Regency period is my second favourite). Needless to say, your unique language, fashion, and Georgian dances provides escapism to us from the modern world.

If you were alive in this day and age, I would have loved it if you read my blog! Oh yes, I would, and I would love your feedback, your discussions, your thoughts. I would even like to gain some writing advice from your clever, and witty, mind.

Unknown to many, you did write about history, such as your manuscript of The History of England (1790)², although you claim that you were an ‘ignorant’ historian that was ‘biased’ and ‘prejudice’. Despite that, you were a British literary genius, who wrote fantastic novels on romance and courtship, I do wonder if you would have any interest in reading about history at all!

So, would you read this blog? I’d hope so!

I believe that maybe you would have liked to have learnt more about history in your time. Perhaps, it was not interesting when you studied it? By perchance, you were shielded away from learning what you should have known? Maybe you would be fascinated to know what happened in the world after you passed away?

It must have been difficult being alive at a time of so much historical change, especially the French Revolution,³ when a relative of yours was actually guillotined. I learnt that when I watched a BBC documentary called Having a Ball, which was actually re-enacting your ball during your historical period.

Take a look at this; if you feel like watching a documentary for 1.5 hours!

If you were alive now, I would imagine how much it may shock you to discover how much has changed in the ways of reading and writing now. For most part, it’s gone digital, which might mortify you!

Here I am, writing in a blog (web + log), while you would have written in a little book journal! I would dread to see your face when I inform you that we spend most of our days looking a screen, be it the TV, computer, or tablet. Paper books remain popular (including yours), but they can now be read electronically. Strange, isn’t it?

Our times are different, as the world has changed. But wouldn’t it be amazing if you were actually here now, reading this, learning history, and offering your thoughts on history?

I think it would. Isn’t that what they say? When you dream, you dream big!

Best wishes,
azambakides

¹ Unknown, Jane Austen, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jane_Austen
² Jane Austen, The History of Englandhttp://www.bl.uk/onlinegallery/ttp/austen/accessible/introduction
³ History.com, The French Revolution, http://www.history.com/topics/french-revolution 

Written in response to The Daily Post’s prompt: Pleased To Meet You.

One thought on “Letter to a Dream Reader”

  1. My dear Ms ALZamba,

    I gleaned a most thorough enjoyment upon reading your missive of the 8th instant, what a remarkable turn of events have passed since my death so near some two hundred years.
    I admit to no small surprise that you speak of my works as seemingly as fresh as the day I penned them, oh how I blush with pride to think on it. I fear that had I been most fortuitous to have flourished beyond my allotted forty one years my freshness may have waned and I would most certainly have continued, perhaps to a fault in the revision of my novels.
    You speak freely amongst other things of my unique language, yet it is I that finds your language most perplexing – so many words that are truly alien to my eyes.
    Your wonder of the delights of the Georgian/Regency period are equally reflected in mine upon your own most extraordinary age. On the subject of history as indeed upon myriad others I sadly, for my sex you understand, found myself at a distinct disadvantage.
    This BBC documentary you write of, I shall invest some time to absorb its content, it seems most apposite and I thank you for it.
    I apologise most profusely for I know nothing of these TV, computer or indeed tablet curiosities that you write of – I fear the years betwixt us are proving unbreachable.

    As the great bard himself animated his Miranda to opine “O brave new world, That has such people in’t!”

    I take the opportunity these few words afford me to hope that this will find you in good health as I am at this present writing thanks be to God for it.

    J.AUSTEN.

    Liked by 1 person

Penny for your thoughts...?

