Greensleeves

Greensleeves is one of my most favourite historic folk songs ever.

Alas, my love, you do me wrong,
To cast me off discourteously.
For I have loved you well and long,
Delighting in your company.

Chorus:
Greensleeves was all my joy
Greensleeves was my delight,
Greensleeves was my heart of gold,
And who but my lady greensleeves.

Alas, my love, that you should own
A heart of wanton vanity,
So must I meditate alone
Upon your insincerity.

(Chorus)

Your vows you’ve broken, like my heart,
Oh, why did you so enrapture me?
Now I remain in a world apart
But my heart remains in captivity.¹

As it is a folk song, the form often varies. This video is my favourite version out of all the ones I’ve heard. It’s set to The Tudors, which is a period drama set around the young life of Henry VIII. Apparently, this song was said to be written by Henry VIII, but I hugely doubt that, and research says not too!¹

This song has many different interpretations with much debate over what it really means. Discussion have decided that it’s about a Lady Greens Leeves, but that is where the similarities end, as some think she was promiscuous, while others think she was not.²

From current analysis, I believe it’s about a man who is hopelessly in love with her, and is sore from rejection. As a child, I literally thought it was actually about green leaves, and that someone loved those green leaves oh so much!

What do you think Greensleeves mean?

¹ Six Wives, Greensleeves Lyricshttp://www.sixwives.info/greensleeves-lyrics.htm.
² Hubpages, The Folk Song Greensleeves: its Origins and Historyhttp://greensleeves-hubs.hubpages.com/hub/FolkSongGreensleeves-Greensleeves.
³ Wikipedia, Greensleeves: Lyrical Interpretation, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greensleeves#Lyrical_interpretation.
4 thoughts on “Greensleeves”

  1. I’ve sung this song as a child and never did I think it was anything but greensleeves – as in she was wearing green – am really surprised to see that there is so much debate about it – smile – have bookmarked this blog to re-blog for one of the reblogging challenges – please let me know if you don’t want it copied.

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on the spare and commented:

    Do you remember Greensleeves – or that was what I thought this song was called – its a Tudor Ballard, that we used to sing at school.

    “Apparently, this song was said to be written by Henry VIII, but I hugely doubt that, and research says not too!¹”

    I was so impressed with this account of the sources of the song, that I thought I’d pass it on – do click to read the original, as it has a video that you can play and listen to it – in case you’ve never heard it……

    Like

Penny for your thoughts...?

